Online nominations for the ICT Award 2021 have begun in 11 different categories.

ICT Award 2021

The online nomination (application) period for the sixth edition of the ICT Award, which has established itself as a prestigious award in the field of Information and Communication Technology, has begun today, i.e. Ashar 8, 2078. (accordingly, June 22, 2021). Nominations for the ICT Award 2021, organized by Living with ICT in collaboration with various government and private organizations, are now open in 11 different categories.

In light of the declining rates of the second wave of COVID-19, the online nominations for the ICT Awards 2021 have been opened. Despite the postponement of most events during the first wave’s transition period last year, the winners of 12 categories were honored at a special event at the Soaltee Hotel on December 23, 2020, advancing the ICT Awards 2020 nomination and selection process through the virtual medium.

The majority of this year’s ICT Awards selection committee meetings will also be held virtually. The ICT Award selection process involves more than a dozen jurors and advisors. Individuals, businesses, products, and organizations interested in 11 different categories can apply until the 16th of Shrawan, 2078. Nominations for the award can be submitted online by competitors or by anyone else. To be nominated for the award, go to the website, select the appropriate category, and fill out the form.
The award categories for innovations and startups are Startup ICT Award, Product ICT Award, and Rising Student ICT Award. Individuals are also given the Pioneer ICT Award, Nepali Diaspora ICT Award, Entrepreneur ICT Award, and Media Person ICT Award.

Similarly, government and private organizations have received the Digital Education ICT Award (Public Sector), Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector), Digital Governance ICT Award (Public Sector), and Digital Governance ICT Award (Private Sector) (Private Sector).

Since its inception in 2016, the ICT Awards have recognized more than 50 individuals, organizations, businesses, and products in a variety of categories. More than 400 online applications were received for the Huawei ICT Award 2020 last year.

This year, in order to make the award selection process more systematic and fair, a jury team of more than 12 individuals will select the winner in different stages over the course of three months. After three rounds of selection in the Startup, Product, and Student Star Innovation categories, the top five will be announced through public voting. Similarly, in the other genres, four stages of virtual selection and field visits will be carried out.

The organizers of the ICT Award held a virtual press conference on Tuesday to open nominations for 11 different categories. Razan Lamsal, the organizing committee’s coordinator, stated at the conference that the award must be refined and expanded each year. According to him, the ICT Award is a campaign to explore possibilities and excellence in communication and technology. Similarly, Jury Coordinator Sushil Pokhrel and Chief Jury Coordinator Hempal Shrestha felt that the ICT Award should be made standard and credible from all angles. According to Ph.D. Dr. Shuvarna Shakya, the ICT award is the most dependable and fair of the awards given in Nepal.

Former Minister Ganesh Shah spoke on the occasion, saying that the ICT sector should be expanded and that this award has made it more meaningful. Similarly, Anil Dutt, Joint Secretary at the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, stated that the ICT Award would help to promote Nepal’s ICT sector and make the Digital Nepal campaign more meaningful by bringing together the private and public sectors. Former Joint Secretary Birendra Mishra, First President of CAN Federation Bimal Sharma, First Pioneer ICT Award winner Muni Shakya, and others spoke about the award’s significance.

Award winners will receive a variety of services and facilities, as well as special recognition. Winners in the Startup, Product, and Rising Star categories will also receive a concessional loan and an investment opportunity.

Who will apply for which ICT Award category?

To be nominated for the ICT Award 2021, go to the official website and click on Registration, then select the appropriate category and fill out the online form.

  1. ICT Startup Award
    To be eligible for this award, which promotes and encourages companies that work in the field of IT products, services, and innovation, the company must be registered and operating in accordance with Nepalese laws. Companies that have been registered in the last three years are eligible to apply in this category. Last year’s winner in this category was Cryptogen Nepal Pvt. Ltd.
  2. Product ICT Award
    Nominations for IT and Innovative Products developed by any Nepali company, organization, group, or individual are welcome. Nominations can be submitted in this category for IT products that were made public between Baisakh 2077 and mid-Chaitra 2078. Last year’s winner was CPFDS AML & KYC Management System.
  3. Rising Star ICT Innovation Award
    Nominations for the Rising Star Innovation ICT Award can be submitted for research, innovation, and projects prepared by college and university students and youths under the age of 30. Last year’s winner in this category was St. Xavier’s College student ‘Sanchai Chhau.’
  4. Pioneer ICT Award
    This award is given to a veteran who has made outstanding contributions to information and communication technology. This award was given to Nilkantha Upreti last year.
  5. Nepali Diaspora ICT Award
    This award will be given to a person of Nepalese origin who is living abroad in recognition of his or her contribution to the country’s information technology. Last year, the award was given to Nepali Gaurav Raj Upadhyaya, who works at Amazon.
  6. Entrepreneur ICT Award
    The Entrepreneur ICT Award will be given to Nepali entrepreneurs working in information technology. Last year’s winner in this category was Vinay Bohara, Managing Director of Vianet.
  7. Woman ICON ICT Award
    The Woman Icon ICT Award is intended for Nepalese women working in information technology. Prof. Timila Yami Thapa was honored in this category last year.
  8. ICT Award for Digital Education (Public Sector)
    The Digital Education ICT Award is given to government and community educational institutions in order to encourage the education sector to become more digital and technologically savvy. Budhanilkantha School received the award in this category last year.
  9. ICT Award for Digital Education (Private Sector)
    This year, the Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector) category was added in order to encourage private sector educational institutions as well. Nominations for this category will be accepted from private schools, colleges, and educational institutions.
  10. ICT Award for Digital Governance (Public Sector)
    Successful governments, bodies, departments, or municipalities will be able to register nominations in this category by digitizing government services and facilities in order to provide citizens with technology-friendly services. The Inland Revenue Department received the Digital Governance ICT Award last year.
  11. ICT Award for Digital Services (Private Sector)
    Nominations in this category can be made by private sector organizations, limited companies, or companies serving the public. Other service-oriented private sector companies will be able to participate in this category, which was added this year, in addition to IT and software companies.

    Similarly, Paila Emergency Resuscitator received the Covid 19 targeted genre, Ncell Innovation Driven Crisis Response ICT Award last year. Kiran Acharya and Hamro Swasthya each received the Media Person Award and Jury Mention Award 2020.
Facebook Comments Box